Topic

Sewing silpoly

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sewing silpoly

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Josh J
    BPL Member

@uahiker

I’m still fairly new to sewing, I can but not very familiar with seam types ect…. so how hard is it to sew silpoly?  What type of seam?  Any advice?  Or should I give it my MIL who used to make clothes and still makes a lot of stuff.

Steve M
    Spectator

@twistedmember

Perhaps you should consider asking MIL for advice and make it yourself, that way you get to experience handling Sil poly and how hard it is to make the various seam types with this material and gain hands on practise on sewing yourself. It may be handy for all those ditty bags, bug nets, packs, quilts, beanies, and jackets you may make in the future

Michael B
    BPL Member

@mikebergy

It depends on the denier and the coating, but the standard 20D silpoly is not any more difficult to deal with than other coated fabrics. Use quilting clips or binder clips to hold seams together while sewing, they won’t pole holes in the fabrics. Buy a yard or two of fabric to practice the different seams. Faux-felled and French seams are pretty common, but you are just as likely to see a standard seam with either seam tape or binding sewn on, depending on the product. I’ve found a 1/4” or 3/8” seam allowance is good for most things. I am partial to the 1/4” because my presser foot is .5” wide so I just align the material with the foot edge to get a nice straight seam.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

another seam is a hem.  At the edge of the fabric to hide the raw edge (so it doesn’t unravel).  Fold over twice and do a row of stitches