Topic

Route Suggestion Wanted: Low Effort, High Reward Near Los Angeles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Route Suggestion Wanted: Low Effort, High Reward Near Los Angeles

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Joseph Evans
    Spectator

@jee

Hello,

I’m planning a two day trip with a coworker (who is semi experienced) and their 10 year old (who is not). I looked through my notes from trips within the last couple of years, and the elevation gain, coupled with starting altitude, doesn’t seem like a recipe for success when a kid is involved.

Does anyone have suggestions for ‘easy’ trails within a decent proximity to LA? My concerns are primarily around difficulty, as I have an embarrassing number of low degree bags to outfit the group. I’m thinking streams/trees, and not high desert. Bonus points if we’re not in a car for half a day.

Below are a few I’ve found (although all have decent car time), and would love feedback on (as well as suggestions):

• Redwood Canyon Trail
    • Rock Creek to Long Lake
    • Grass Lake (unsure on permit situation?)

Thanks!

Ben H.
    BPL Member

@bzhayes

Locale: No. Alabama

It would be a good idea to give some indication of what mileage/elevation you are looking for.  Off the top of my head, take the Palm Springs Tram and hike around the top of San Jacinto SP.  Easier: you can put together a trip along the Sespe River (Piedra Blanca trailhead).  More difficult: Two Harbors to Little Harbor on Catalina Island.  More epic: Little Lakes Valley (your second suggestion)… Dinkey Lakes would be a similar suggestion perhaps a smidge closer with slightly more elevation change .

Joseph Evans
    Spectator

@jee