Topic

Restoring a shelter with a degraded PU coating

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Restoring a shelter with a degraded PU coating

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

This came up in another thread, so I am starting a new thread to avoid hijacking the other one.

In that thread I stated this about my Chouinard Pyramid,

These are PU coated nylon, so waterproofing is a bit of a task, as you need to remove the PU coating first. I need to re-do mine, a job for this fall.

Greg Mihalik asked,

Just curious – What dissolves PU but not nylon?

I am not a fabric expert, so if I present anything about fabrics that is incorrect you have been forewarned :-)

I have successfully restored a few Polyurethane (PU) coated nylon shelters over the years. Years ago most shelters and tarps were PU coated ripstop nylon. Today there are still PU nylon  shelters from a lot of the larger tent manufacturers, however a lot of the “UL” tents from the likes of Sierra Designs, MSR, etc. are starting to use silnylon or a PU/Sil nylon.

So how do you know if you PU coating is bad? First, it might be leaking. Or you may see the PU coating actually peeling. But usually when the PU starts to degrade the fabric starts to get sticky when it is folded up and stored and/or it starts to smell bad. The smell is unique. The closest thing I can compare it to is vomit.

To restore the fabric you will need to remove all of the PU coating, which is applied to the inside of the fabric. I don’t know of any chemical that will remove the PU without damaging the nylon. So we need to wash the coating off.