Topic

Recommend me a sleeping pad please

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Recommend me a sleeping pad please

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Bryan D
    BPL Member

@laketex

Still gearing up for a spring trip.  I’ve been buying on the gear swap, and have tent, sleeping bags, backpacks, and cook system covered.  I have a small ridgerest for my daughter, but I need a pad for me.  Currently, I have a 15 year old 3/4 length thermarest.  I can pack with that, or I can see what else is out there.  I have a 20 degree EE Revolution on order that I’ll be using on top of this mat.  I’m 6’3″, and prefer full length and light weight.  What do I need to be looking at?

Brando Sancho
    BPL Member

@saudade

Locale: SoCal

What temps are you likely going to be sleeping in? That is going to guide your decision. Based on the 20* rating of your bag, maybe the Exped Synmat UL 7?

Bryan D
    BPL Member

@laketex

I’m just a cold sleeper.  Doubt I’d ever be out in temps under 30 degrees.  I’d say usually between 30 and 80 to start out.  I went with the quilt mainly for versatility since I can just use it as a blanket in warm temps, and then cinch it up when it’s colder.  Maybe down the road, I’ll want to get into cold weather camping, but it’s just not where I’m at right now.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

Mostly, it will depend on how you sleep. Some are comfortable with a 1/4″ CCF pad. Others want a thicker pad around 2-3″.

For most general use at the temps you describe, I would recommend a NeoAir XLite for ground and platform camping above freezing. But, what you gain in comfort, you loose on durability. These can be punctured.