Topic

Packraft or other boat

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Packrafting Packraft or other boat

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Burns
    BPL Member

@ad9t

I am considering a packraft and need some advice on stability for my application and advice on the best model.

I recently moved to a home on the banks of Wildcat Creek in Lafayette, IN, abut six miles upstream from the confluence with the Wabash River. At my house the creek is about 100 ft wide. Much of the year it is shallow enough to wade upstream for miles except for occasional deep pools. No rapids, but many places where the boat will be be pulled over gravel. With heavy rain the water can rise ten feet in a few hours. Large trees litter the creek.

I hope to float the creek. I am a serious photographer and occasional fly fisherman.  This means I need to be able to carry gear, including expensive cameras and a large tripod.

Currently, I have two folding sea kayaks. A Klepper Aerius II and a Long Haul Ute. Both are wonderful boats but not suited to the creek.

I see people floating in canoes, kayaks, and pool toys. An old canoe would be an economical way to get on the water, but has several disadvantages. The homeowners association would never allow me to store it outside, and garage space is full. I also have a steep hill and a few hundred feed of dense flood plain between my home and the water. A canoe or kayak would force me to use public accesses to the river. With a packraft I could access at my home.

Finding paddling partners that will put up with a photographer is not easy. My son will go with me when he is available, but as a senior in college I can’t rely on him being available. Occasionally my wife may want to use the boat, and I may invite friends who do not have a boat.  It would be nice to have boat space for two, but I may be going alone at times.