Topic

Non-Breathable Rain Gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Non-Breathable Rain Gear

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    chris s
    BPL Member

@riceonsuede

Hey guys. I am very new to the UL world. My last few trips were painful and my UL hiking partners finally helped me to see how much more enjoyable hiking can be. My heavy wool and waxed cotton pants were not working so well. I’ve gotten myself down to the 12-13lb mark for both 20* and 40* setups. The final thing I’m trying to figure out is rain gear.

I used to use one of those packable cabelas sets, they seemed light until lately. After a buddies recommendation I bought one of those marmot super mica jackets. Think it weighs about half a pound. Then I saw LukesUL jackets and ordered the micro10 set. Since ordering I started to realize through researching, all of these jackets are WPB and you guys are basically done with that. From all the research I’ve been doing lately, no one has had good luck with any wpb jacket in a decent rain.

I then ( after waiting 3 months and losing contact 2 months ago) decided to cancel my order through Luke’s ( hoping I’ll get my money back). I then grabbed a bowl, some water, and my marmot jacket. Stuck the jacket over the bowl and poured some water in it. Didn’t take long for it to get wet beneath the jacket.

So here I am searching yet again, but everyone’s been using wpb so much lately, that’s all I’m coming up with. Does anyone have any experience with truly waterproof lightweight rain gear? One that caught my eye is the rain suit from LightHeart Gear. The silnylon approach I’ve seen in the past. My sil tarp have always kept my dry in the past, although I have heard others talking about misting through the tarp on heavy rains.