Topic

New pack for someone with a bad back

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) New pack for someone with a bad back

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Robert I
    BPL Member

@bob-i

I’ve been using a Granite Gear Blaze 60 for several years, and want to get something lighter to help get my  base weight down.  I’m 69 years old, and have a bad back and one artificial hip.  My base weight is 12-15 lbs. depending my shelter, sleeping system, and whether I bring my chair zero.  This does not include a bear canister, but does include a ursack.  The chair is necessary because of my back unless we go somewhere that has tables and benches.  The HMG Sourthwest or Windrider 3400, the zpacks arc haul, the gossamer gear mariposa, and the drop 40l pack by Dan Durston all seem like nice packs that have gotten good reviews.  I need something that will transfer the weight well to my hips.  Suggestions would be appreciated.

avi sito
    BPL Member

@avisito

For what it’s worth: I had a herniated disk in my lower back and underwent surgery there. I understood that I should only carry weight on my hips if I were to continue backpacking. I now use an arcblast which does the job. Probably 7 years now, and I like it, though I wouldn’t carry more than 15kg with it.

I’ve also put my eye on the exped lightning for heavier weights as it appears to have a sturdy back frame/harness, though I did not try it as of yet.

Rob
    BPL Member

@grubbster

Have a look at the Seek Outside Flight.  I have not tried this particular pack although I do have one on order.  Their other packs are great at transferring weight to the hips so I expect this one will also.

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee