Topic

Need a "heavier" duty lightweight backpack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Need a "heavier" duty lightweight backpack

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Tim Halberg
    BPL Member

@turtlehead

Locale: Folsom, CA timhalberg.com

I’m a photographer and an ultralight backpacker – but I haven’t combined the two into one on many ocassions – but I’m being hired now to go backpacking and take photos…

The last time I tried to bring all the camera gear and my normal kit – it was too much for my pack – I currently use an old Gossamer Gear Mariposa Plus.

In addition to my normal kit which totals around 10 pounds with a bear canister, I’m trying to pack:

two camera bodies, two lenses, tripod, light stand, flash, spare batteries

So I’m looking for recommendations on a lightweight pack that can carry additional weight comfortably for my upcoming trips.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated – let me know if you need more info to provide a better recommendation.

Thanks!

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

I’m selling an Elemental Horizons Aquilo backpack that I think would work for you. If, after some research, you think it might be something you’re interested in, let me know.

Elemental Horizons Aquilo (mine is the previous version to the current one, seen here).

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

How much weight are you planning on carrying?  If you’re going to carry 30# or more, I suggest the Seek Outside Gila or Divide depending on how much volume you need.   If you are carrying under 30# and don’t need tons of volume then something like the SWD Long Haul 50 is a nice choice.

The Seek Outside packs come in X21 (210d face fabric) and X42 (420d face fabric).

You can get the SWD packs in a variety of fabrics including Dyneema X

Diane “Piper” Soini