Topic

MYOG Heavy Down Winter Jacket

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG Heavy Down Winter Jacket

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Ryan A
    BPL Member

@rabrams

Hello fellow MYOG crowd,

I needed a warm winter coat for variable Toronto winters, where it temperatures range from 0 to -30 Celsius. I work as a geoscientist for an engineering consulting company and I spend a considerable amount of time outdoors collecting measurements and performing site inspections. I sometimes spend hours at one location collecting data, and don’t get a chance to move around much. I also spend time around heavy equipment such as drilling rigs and earth works machines, so I didn’t want to shell out $600+ on a jacket this might get dirty or ripped. I initially started with a down vest and lightweight jacket to learn the basics. I am glad I didn’t jump the gun and start with the winter jacket, as I made many mistakes on both.

The body of the jacket is box wall baffled (1.75” loft), the arms are sewn thru (1.25” loft), and the hood is sewn thru as well (1.0” loft). When measured lying flat on a table, the thickness of the jacket body is 3-4 inches. In total, I used around 7 ounces of 850 FP down. I constructed the main body out of one piece of nylon to reduce the number of seams, and therefor cold spots. I chose to have all the seams face outward (i.e. at the neck, arms, hood) so they are not visible on the inside. The inside has a very clean look, which keeps my OCD happy. The seams are covered by the outer shell, which is a durable Commander fabric. It is a ~6oz/yd<sup>2 </sup>fabric that is super durable and windproof, but has significant weight. It is similar to the shell that Canada Goose uses on their parkas and bombers.