Topic

MSR Access 1 tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) MSR Access 1 tent

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 63 total)
  • Author
    Don Burton
    Spectator

@surfcam310

Locale: City of Angels

I posted this in the Winter Hiking forum originally but the forum sees little traffic. Mods, feel free to delete if necessary.

—————————————————-

Does anyone have experience with this tent? Thoughts? It seems to check off a lot of boxes for me.

-freestanding

-vestibule

-light-ish at 3lbs. I’d use grocery bag deadman anchors and 1 myog stuff sack.

-double walled

-designed for snow shoe/ski touring type of trips as opposed to high alpine mountaineering trips.

I’m new to winter camping and so far have been happy with most of my systems (sleep, cook, clothing…) in terms of weight and performance but looking at tents. I’ve used my Locus Gear mid. I’ve used it in mild weather in the mid teens. I feel confident in roughing out some tough weather with it but maybe not be in comfort. My concerns with my mid are:

-not freestanding. The center pole (trekking pole) sank in the middle of the night causing the mid to sag significantly. I’m assuming this is from my body heat melting the snow. Staked out corners were fine.

-spindrift even when pitched close to the ground. I thought of building berms around the perimeter and I’ve seen some pictures of others doing this so I assume it’s at least partially effective.

-no vestibule which would allow snow in while entering/exiting if it’s snowing. No bad weather cook area.

I’m listing these in case I’m missing something or doing things poorly.

bradmacmt
    BPL Member

@bradmacmt

Locale: montana