Topic

Mid-Style tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Mid-Style tent

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Lance
    Spectator

@geaulite-2

I’m looking for some input on whether this plan would work. I’ve never tried a Mid before but have completed several A-frame style tents already. I’m mostly trying to identify any potential roadblocks before I go ahead and order the fabric. As a side note, I’m hoping for this to have plenty of space for 2 people plus a dog. While I want the tent to be light, having enough space & durability is more of a priority. Having bug protection is a must as well. I’ve played with a couple of designs with mesh going all the way up to the peak, but that adds a ton of extra fabric. Instead I intend to sew a 6″ piece all around the bottom that connects to the floor. I haven’t seen many Mids with the mesh sewn from the bathtub floor to the bottom of the fly. I’m wondering if this will lead to a problem that I’m not seeing. The zipper would come down the front and curve into the side seam (red line) so it would be about 6″ above the mesh that runs along the bottom of the fly.

Here are the specs.

Floor: 6’6″ X 8′ X 6″ (walls) – 1.6 silpoly

Mesh – .67 noseeum

Fly 1.1 silpoly

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

You might want the mesh to go vertical and sew it to tent walls a foot up from the bottom

Even without mesh, I have found bugs don’t go into a mid much.  And they go to the peak and just fly around harmlessly.  But I avoid heavy bug areas/times.

With 2 people, when you open the door, rain falls into the tent.  If someone has a sleeping bag there it will tend to get wet.