Topic

Looking for 2-man, 3 1/2 season tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Looking for 2-man, 3 1/2 season tent

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Jim S
    BPL Member

@calion

Hi all! Newbie here. I have a 2-man North Face Ventilator tent that I love and has served me well for many years. However, I’ve recently started camping more in early Spring/late Fall, and the Ventilator lives up to its name too well in those conditions; it’s drafty all night, because the fly doesn’t reach the ground.

So I’m looking for a replacement. I’d like something generally similar to the Ventilator: Free-standing, easy to set up, room for two people or one person and gear, lightweight, tall enough to sit up in, cool and breezy with the fly off, but capable of holding heat with the fly on and closed up. I’m not looking for an Alpine tent; it doesn’t have to stand up to very high winds, feet of snow, or sub-zero temperatures. It definitely needs to keep me dry in a rainstorm, however.

Frankly if I could just modify my existing fly to be able to reach the ground and give me something of a seal against the breeze, that might be great. But that could come with its own problems.

I’m not worried too much about expense; I’m planning to haunt eBay until I find a good used one anyway. By the same token, it doesn’t have to be a current model. A high-quality older model is much better than a cheaply made new tent.

My Google searches have come up empty; there’s no agreement as to what to even call what I’m looking for (3-season? 4-season? All-season? 3 1/2 season?), and I cannot pin down a good model of tent for my needs.

So…anybody’s got any ideas?

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee