Topic

Lone Peak 3.0 trail shoes?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Lone Peak 3.0 trail shoes?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Locale: NYC metro

Does anyone have experience with the Lone Peak 3.0’s?  I’m new to zero drop shoes.  I’ve been wearing Cascadias over the years, but the latest iterations are progressively narrower in the footbox (not good).  I tried on a pair of the Lone Peak 3.0’s yesterday at REI and they felt much more comfortable than the earlier versions.  I’m wondering if anyone else has comments on these?

Link .
    BPL Member

@annapurna

You are interested in the 3.0 and not the newer 3.5 ? Here is Andrew Skurka’s review of the 3.0 from last November Review: Altra Lone Peak 3.0 || For wide large-volume feet or easy trails .

Pedestrian
    BPL Member

@pedestrian

The Lone Peak 1.0 and 2.0 fit me well and I liked them a lot, especially the wide toe box; however, they both wore out pretty fast.
    The LP 3.0 are significantly narrower in the toe box and my toes felt scrunched; it felt like both the width and the height of the toe box had been reduced. So I moved on from Altra Lone Peaks.
    I also had a similar experience with the Cascadias – loved them until the 7. The 10s, 11s etc just fit very different and my feet were not happy.

The search for well fitting shoes is always ongoing it seems.

Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Now that I think about it, I’m not sure if I tried on the 3.0’s or 3.5’s at REI.  How long have the 3.5’s been out?  Whatever they were, the fit was near perfect for me.  When I tried on earlier iterations of the Lone Peaks they felt sloppy.  I have low volume, but wide feet (but not terribly wide) with a narrow heel.

Link .
    BPL Member

@annapurna