Topic

Liquid / soft foods for backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Liquid / soft foods for backpacking

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    R Y
    BPL Member

@rhyang

I’ve been backpacking for about 15 years but this past winter I had surgery for a Zenker’s Diverticulum in my esophagus.  Long story short is that healing has been slow, and I had to feed through a gastrostomy tube for the last several months.  But I started swallowing liquids and eating soft foods recently, and hope to have the tube removed before long.

That said, I suspect I will still have issues swallowing solids for a while (whether or not the surgery was successful in resolving my dysphagia is still an open question).  I bought a commercial-grade blender recently to make tube-feeding blends (Vitamix) and can make various puree’s for oral consumption.  On dayhikes I’ve been taking bottles of Ensure, protein shakes like Odwalla and Gu packets.  But somehow I don’t think this will scale well to multiday trips :)

Has anyone been through anything like this ?  Any meal ideas ?  The first thing that comes to mind is to get a dry grains container for my Vitamix and grind up freeze-dried backpacking food.  I can eat things like pudding, soft oatmeal, yogurt (without fruit chunks, those cause problems) and the like at the moment.

edit: I just noticed some other posts that mentioned Ensure powder — had no idea !  Will research that as well… and also powdered yogurt.

Thanks for any insights !
    -Rob

Howard P
    Spectator

@vegan-packer-2

Here are at least a few things that you may be able to tolerate. Check my YouTube channel, “Vegan Packer,” for other possible suggestions. I’ll be posting new meals, so make sure to subscribe, so that you don’t miss out on them.