Topic

Lightweight First Aid and Trauma Kits: Perspectives from a Mountain Rescue Medic

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Editor’s Roundtable Lightweight First Aid and Trauma Kits: Perspectives from a Mountain Rescue Medic

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Emylene VanderVelden
    BPL Member

@emylene-vandervelden

Companion forum thread to: Lightweight First Aid and Trauma Kits: Perspectives from a Mountain Rescue Medic

This article features an interview with a Canadian Mountain Rescue Medic, focusing on how to assemble lightweight first aid and trauma kits for backcountry travel.

Dena Kelley
    BPL Member

@eagleriverdee

Locale: Eagle River, Alaska

Enjoyed. I’m in a local SAR group and am always interested in the perspectives of others who do this, as I’m relatively new to it. Thank you for this article.

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

Once you have checked the breathing, stopped the bleeding, and maybe immobilized the limb (or whatever), what is the next step?

Sit down, take a deep breath, get the stove out and make coffee. For the victim, strong coffee with sugar ‘on doctor’s orders’, even if they normally don’t take either coffee or sugar. And yes, we HAVE done this at times (like more than a few times).

Chers

David P
    BPL Member

@david-paradis

Thanks for posting this Emylene! I like how Michael stresses knowledge over just adding more to your fak. What good are all those tools without the ability to concoct a plan of action to implement them effectively? Stripped down true medic kit- i have actually decided to Add a few key items from your interview after reading, my 2oz med kit is going to swell a bit, but not that much!