Topic

Lightweight 4 Season Tent for Iceland

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Lightweight 4 Season Tent for Iceland

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Rosanne V
    Spectator

@theredpapers

I have been looking around this forum for a while to gather advise on gear, but some of the relevant threads are a little old by now, so I decided to post my own question.

I am planning a thru-hike around Iceland this summer for which I need a suitable tent. I am not an expert on shelters, so I could really use some advise!

I need a one person, 4 season, freestanding tent, that can take heavy rain and extreme winds. I will be living in this for three or four months, so I need to be somewhat comfortable: a vestibule that can hold my dirty shoes and pack, and I need to be able to sit up in it, so it’s livable when I get stuck inside for a day (or a few) due to bad weather.

My 3 season tent is a Big Agnes Fly Creek UL1, which I love, as it’s simple and light. It’s all I need from a tent really, but I don’t think it will be strong enough for Iceland. I have been caught in a bad storm with it in Tasmania, and it survived, but it wasn’t comfortable.

Now my main issue is not being able to find a 4 season tent light enough. So far, the tents that have caught my eye are the Hilleberg Akto and the Tarptent Scarp 1, that I believe both would do the job well and withstand the extreme weather conditions. But both are quite heavy. Including footprint (and in the case of the Scarp 1 the extra poles to make the tent windproof and freestanding) they both end up around 2 kg / 70 oz. And I am a 5’8″, 115 pound female so I would really, really like something a little lighter. Preferably under 1.5 kg / 50 oz. (If they exist…?)