Topic

Learning to Backpack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Learning to Backpack

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Somedaynow
    BPL Member

@somedaynow

DH and I started learning how to backpack this Fall. I thought it would be interesting to document our efforts and I wrote up summaries of our first three outings, including our ongoing gear selection. I intended to just post it as a thread here, like a mini-journal, but it didn’t work well with photos. So I made a quick blog instead. I can’t promise I will remember to update it in the Spring for part 2, but I plan on trying. Here’s the links if anyone is interested in reading about some Midwestern super newbies. (It’s probably pretty cringe worthy for experienced folks, but I promise we’re progressing.) Any tips that don’t involve tarps, bivies, or $500 pieces of equipment are very welcome!

Introduction

Starter Gear

Illinois Beach State Park – Camping Trip (Sept)

Gear Update 1

Indiana Dunes Nat’l Park – Backpacking/Camping (Oct)

Gear Update 2

Indiana Dunes Na’l Park – Backpacking/Camping (Nov)

Plans for Spring 2020

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

I’m glad you are trying backpacking and enjoying it. You have already dropped quite a bit of weight out of your pack without spending much money and should be congratulated on that.

You mention some questions about whether your pack is fitting properly. People here can help out with pack fitting questions if you want. A photograph from the side would be helpful. Also, be aware that how you pack your backpack can have a huge impact on how it carries weight and whether it pulls away from your body.

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx