Topic

JMT beginning of August

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists JMT beginning of August

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jiayin G
    BPL Member

@j-guo-2

Dear all,

I will go to JMT at the beginning of August. It is my first time to try a trail of this distance and adopt the concept of light backpacking in order to finish the trail maybe in a more comfortable way. I am a day-hiker, the longest trail I did is 16 mile in one day. For the camping which I do rarely, I bring about 33 lb to cover 12 mile. Uh… in quite different gears.

For the gear list, I am quite uncertain if doing it in a reasonable way. But it is the best I can plan after one week’s researching. I want to know your thinkings of it. The gear list in the following link

https://lighterpack.com/r/4ztbin

There are some items that I am not sure if I need them, I tag them “maybe not”. Any advise or comments will be appreciated.

jscott
    BPL Member

@book

Locale: Northern California

That’s a fine list! I personally would do without:

plb–there will be plenty of people on this trail.

phone

rain pants

thermal bottom.

And, if you can possibly swing it, get a Bearikade weekender. All of this would save you a couple of pounds I think. Significant!

Jiayin G
    BPL Member

@j-guo-2

Sorry for the late reply. I agree with removing the rain pants, since I have extra underwear and quick dry pants, which can deal with rain with one day. Also maybe I do not need a thermal bottom in August, I did it just because most people I researched bring one.

For the Bearicade weekender v.s. BV 5000 I am still researching, since it seems I miss taking Bearicade into my consideration.