Topic

Introductory Trip

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Introductory Trip

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Will P
    BPL Member

@wperrott92

Instead of my usual snowless trips on the Ouachita Trail or AT I’m thinking about trying out some real cold weather camping in Colorado this year. Any worthy suggestions besides lost creek wilderness or RMNP? I have about 10-14 days in mid/late December.

I have no snow experience and only some 4 season gear, so I thought it would be wise to pick a popular area with no avalanche danger where I could hike back to my car to get supplies and dry out.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

Yeah, one’s car is the ultimate 4-season tent.  With climate control!  Fill up the gas tank in advance (for any trip to snow country).

If it comes to that, 4-cylinder engines take 1/4-gallon/hour to continuously idle and run the heat.  2 gallons for an 8-hour night spent at exactly 70F.  In a survival situation – stranded in the mountains – running it until you’re too hot, leaving it off until you’re too cold, etc, and you can stretch that by many fold.  When I’m planning to do that type of “car camping”, I’ll bring the Prius, because it automatically turns the gasoline motor on and off, as needed for heat or battery charging.

Mike B
    BPL Member

@highwarlok

Locale: Colorado