Topic

How to books for through hiking / long trips

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion How to books for through hiking / long trips

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Thomas G
    BPL Member

@tomgattiker

I am looking for good books (or other resources) on doing long backing trips.   Planning a trip on the nascent Idaho Wilderness trial late summer. It is about 300 trail miles but only crosses one paved road and not many gravel roads so logistics are daunting. I have been backpacking for 30 years but always trips of less than a week so some uncharted territory for me

thanks

Atif Khan
    BPL Member

@atifethica-institute-2

It’s slim pickings for good how-to books on hiking. Long Trails by Liz Thomas, maybe. Or Trail Tested by Justin Lichter. But these and others just give a general gloss.

Logistically, for longer walks with few resupply points like you describe, water (several pounds a day) and, to a lesser extent, food (a couple of pounds a day), will be your main weight variables, both affected by terrain, daily distance, temperature, natural sources, and a host of other factors.

Steve Thompson
    BPL Member

@stevet

Locale: Southwest

Add Jardine’s Beyond Backpacking and Chris Townsend’s book to the list but neither offer much on resupply logistics.

Are you going the full 300miles?  And out for how long?   And some other questions:  how heavy a pack are you willing to carry on resupply days?  Do have someone willing/able to resupply you?   Do you have an extra bear can you can cache yourself?  Are there campgrounds with bear proof storage boxes a short distance from your main route?