Topic

How do you carry/filter/store water?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion How do you carry/filter/store water?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 46 total)
  • Author
    Aaron
    BPL Member

@aaronmcd

This is only aimed at those who filter water. I’m a beginner, and trying to come up with my preferred methods still and want to know what others do, and pros and cons to methods – mainly carrying/storing dirty vs clean.

My current method:
    Carry two 1L bottles (in hands usually) of filtered water. At camp, I filter with a sawyer directly into a 10L sea to summit bucket (0.88 oz). Hang the bucket of clean water and use through the evening and morning to drink and cook.

Would be easier to fill with dirty water, and if it was dirty I would have more available to wash off. But OTOH it’s nice to have all my filtered water ready to go at once. It would be cumbersome to carry it very far if I camped miles from the nearest water. I’d have to haul by hand or settle with cold camping.

Idea – swap the 16 oz sawyer bladder for a 2L evernew bladder at a 3/4 oz weight penalty. If I ditch the bucket it’ll be the same weight as I have now.

What about some form of hydration tube? One major problem with that is I would not want water on my back unless I need to carry more than 2L, and then I could just drink out of the bottles. Another problem is then the bladder is forced to be a clean water bladder, and I still need a dirty filter bladder.

What is your system (filter, carry, storage) and what do you think I should try? Should I try and make use of a dirty water carry method?

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

I carry a pint bottle of filtered water.  Usually that’s the only water I carry.