Topic

Help with warmth layers for September JMT

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Help with warmth layers for September JMT

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Gene C
    BPL Member

@genecx

Locale: SF Bay Area

I’ve been using the same layers for many years now and, now that I have a shoulder-season (September) JMT hike coming up, I’m scrutinizing my inventory and spending way too much time going over my clothing list.  Primarily, I’d like people’s input on the warm layers, so I’m not giving a complete list here (skipping wind shirt, rain gear, sleep clothes, legs…).

Skin out, my warm layers are:

•  smartwool t-shirt
    • Stoic very light weight merino long sleeve
    • Arcteryx Fortez Fleece (379 grams/13.4 oz)
    • Rab Xenon X Hoodie (324 grams/11.4 oz)

I do have a medium weight merino wool long sleeve (sub for stoic light weight), but I run warm and the light weight (very light weight?) works as a much better active layer for me.  But then I do run a bit cold at camp.

From my research, I could shave a few grams off the fleece or the hoodie after spending some multiple hundreds of dollars.   Any thoughts?

Allen C
    BPL Member

@acurrano

You’ll be fine with the above, don’t overthink it. If you get cold just keep hiking. Or start hiking. Unless there’s a big snowstorm which could happen so be prepared for that.

Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan

Locale: Central Rockies

This would be a little warm for me this time of year. I’d probably wear the long sleeve merino while hiking and leave the short sleeve at home, or wear the short sleeve and leave the long sleeve at home. I  could see the short sleeve merino + fortez being a pretty versatile combo for high elevations along the JMT in Sept.

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area