Topic

hand crank generator – alternative to solar or power packs?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) hand crank generator – alternative to solar or power packs?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Ryan “Rudy” Oury
    BPL Member

@ohdogg79

Locale: Northern Arizona

Anyone come across this option as an alternative to solar panels or recharging battery packs? I don’t use enough electronics in the outdoors to have warranted any recharging options yet so I have no experience with any of it. Just curious if any have tried or would want to try this?

https://www.k-tor.com/hand-crank-generator/

Ryan “Rudy” Oury
    BPL Member

@ohdogg79

forgot to mention… the unit apparently weighs 15oz and is ~2.5×2.5×7″ so not exactly small. I poked around the website and couldn’t find anything saying how hard/fast you had to crank in order have it outputting power, or if there is any sort of battery in it that allows you to crank really fast for say 1-2 min and then it outputs for 5-10. I have a feeling you have to crank at the appropriate speed for as long as your device needs to be charged/powered.

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

It seems to be putting out 110 volts and at least 2 amps (judging by the plug/USB adapter).  I may be simplifying things, but it seems to be a lot easier to put out the 5 volts and 1.5 amps directly rather than run whatever juice is generated by the crank through an inverter.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

My experience with hand-cranked lights and radios is that it is really only viable / preferable if it is a VERY low-power device AND it will sit for years letting normal batteries go flat.