Topic

Gear for 3-5 days, any other obvious savings?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Gear for 3-5 days, any other obvious savings?

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    AK Granola
    BPL Member

@granolagirlak

Finally managed to get this list done. Anyone see any obvious savings to be had? I may go for a lighter pad. If I take a bear canister, I will take my new heavier pack, so all of that will add about 3 pounds total. My food tends to be lighter than most folks’ food, 1.5 pounds/day at most. For a week or less, I have plenty of extra calories worn that I don’t need to carry them in my pack! I think I’m at a comfortable weight for me, but you all will think of something!

https://lighterpack.com/r/edzau3

Aaron
    BPL Member

@aaronmcd

I’m pretty new to backpacking so understand I may not know what I’m talking about lol.

Are you going somewhere cold? Just cuz you have so much clothing. I haven’t done anything under 40F so that’s overkill for me personally.

I mean you’d have to buy new stuff to save much weight I think:

Cookset – mine is 6.25 oz (stove 2oz, pot 2.5oz, lid 0.5oz, cup 1.25oz) Prob biggest savings is the stove I have this one https://snowpeak.com/products/litemax-titanium-stove

I filter water. Maybe not as convenient. But sawyer mini + pouch + dirty water scoop is 3.25 oz

Sea to Summit 10L water bag – the flexible one I use is 0.88 oz and I don’t mind hanging it.

Do you need tweezers? The spyderco ladybug is 0.6 oz.

The petzl e lite is 1 oz, but not very bright if you like seting up camp and cooking (or hiking) in the dark (I like my camp light so much I bring a little 8 oz camp lantern).

AK Granola
    BPL Member

@granolagirlak

Thanks Aaron. All my backpacking right now is in Alaska. It can be 70 or it can be 30 and raining. I have awakened to snow in July more than once.

Bruce Tolley