Topic

Fixed Length or Variable Length Hiking Poles?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Fixed Length or Variable Length Hiking Poles?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Priest
    BPL Member

@aushiker1

Locale: Fremantle

I seem to have lost my old MSR carbon trekking poles and with a planned walk of Wainright’s Coast to Coast Path in the UK coming up next year I need to do something about poles. Massdrop has Black Diamond’s Distance Carbon Z poles as a drop at a pretty reasonable price of ~AU$132 delivered. These poles weigh 142 grams each.

However these are fixed length poles which I have no experience of; hence curious to know what more experienced users of poles think about going with say these Carbon Z poles or an adjustable pole such as Black Diamond’s Distance Carbon FLZ which weighs in at 173 grams each and cost ~AU$175. To be honest I cannot remember every adjusting the length of my adjustable poles when walking so maybe would be happy with a fixed length but …

Thoughts?

Bob Shuff
    BPL Member

@slbear

Locale: SoCal

I’m pretty happy with my fixed length Carbon Z poles.  I got the 120cm poles about 18 months ago.  They don’t fit my Tarptent Notch perfectly – they are a little tall, but it’s been adequate since I don’t need to batton down the hatches too often.

I’ve had adjustable poles in the past, but I never stop to adjust them, and I use them on every hike I take.  I don’t really feel the need to shorten uphill or lengthen downhill as some have suggested.

Andrew Priest
    BPL Member

@aushiker1

Locale: Fremantle

Thanks Bob. I cannot recall ever feeling the need to adjust the poles I have had in the past either. I think the Z poles at this price are worth a shot for sure.

JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2