Topic

Exploring Eagle River Alaska

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Exploring Eagle River Alaska

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

Trip report below.

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

A late spring in Alaska meant that a lot of the high country was off limits unless I wanted to get my snow gear out again. Fortunately the area around Anchorage is a bit warmer and also a bit drier (at least compared to other areas near the coast). I planned a quick weekend trip up the Eagle River Trail to check out a lake and hopefully a glacier at the top of the valley.

The trail partially follows the historic Iditarod Trail route. I’m no expert but I imagine the avalanche danger must have been through the roof running dog teams through the steep Chugach Mountains back in the day.

After a few miles I left the day hikers behind and got into the wilder part of the Eagle River. I took a break on a rocky knob to enjoy the view. On this trip I was again carrying my old reliable Seek Outside Unaweep Pack. For packrafting trips its still my favorite pack.

I saw a young bull moose a ways midway down the trail and took his picture. At this point I was rushing a bit. I had plenty of time to get up the Eagle River Trail. But I wanted to bushwack a bit to an unnamed lake close to a glacier. If the stars really aligned I thought I might be able to traverse some open country to walk on the glacier.

The trail was mostly a very gradual climb but in a few places cliffs dropped almost straight down to the river. This creates some nice waterfalls and trail building head aches.

<b></b>