Topic

Delorme inReach SE: Please Explain Location/Course

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Delorme inReach SE: Please Explain Location/Course

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

see next post, as this post doesn’t allow editing

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

How do I interpret the Course reading on the Location screen?

How should I hold the SE?

1. vertical, with the back as a pointer,
    2. horizontal with the antenna as a pointer
    3. none of the above

Any tips or tricks appreciated.

Edit: or is it my trending from my prior track points?

Terry Sparks
    Spectator

@firebug

Locale: Santa Barbara County Coast

I’ve been using the Explorer for just over two years and have found the GPS/location feature to be accurate and reliable. The compass is a different story however, even after calibrating it multiple times. The one best way I’ve found to get a bearing is to hold the unit in front of you and start walking, standing still is a total crapshoot from my experience. Even so, with checking my bearing with a good magnetic compass, the Inreach compass was usually 12*-15* off with declination accounted for. The manual is lacking for information and after calling Delorme (back then) for little help, I finally gave up and don’t bother with it and instead carry a magnetic compass.  Hopefully Garmin has updated this feature to fix it and someone can chime in with new info.

Colin M
    BPL Member

@cmcvey23

Have to agree with Terry, it’s a great gps communicator but the compass is about as accurate as the one in my Jeep! I definitely wouldn’t recommend using it to navigate.