Topic

Catskills – loop suggestions?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Catskills – loop suggestions?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Locale: NYC metro

I’m new to the NYC metro area and am looking to get my feet on the ground somewhere in the Appalachians (do the Catskills count as “Appalachians”?) this spring/summer.  I’m thinking of maybe starting off with a 2-3 day trip, around 30-40 miles total.  Anyone have any suggestions?  I just picked up a guidebook from REI the other (Appalachian Mountain Club?) but haven’t had a chance to digest it all.  Thoughts?

ben .
    BPL Member

@frozenintime

hey david

unfortunately, a good long loop in the catskills is not that easy to come by, at least fully trail-bound.

there are a few fantastic shuttle hikes, the devil’s path and escarpment trail being the two most well known.

the classic loop is slide/cornell/wittenberg, but that’s only 17ish miles. it’s possible to widen that loop by going off trail, but bushwacking in dense forest is a special vocation.

you should definitely buy the ny/nj trail conference maps, they are the definitive source: https://www.nynjtc.org/maps/catskill-trails-map

and i haven’t studied it much, but it’s interesting that technically the catskills aren’t even “mountains.”

from dr. wikipedia: