Topic

Broke newbie with kids – help!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Broke newbie with kids – help!

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Christie
    Spectator

@caoimhemaolisa

I’m new to backpacking – lifetime car camper – and am getting ready to take a couple short 2-4 night outings next month.  I’m a broke single mom and will have to acquire lighter weight gear slowly and will be availing myself of the MYOG forum heavily as I’m already a hardcore DIYer.  Can anyone give me input on what to prioritize?  What do I buy first (for as little $ as possible) just so we can at least get out on the trail?  If I have to load up with “good” gear we’d have to give up before we start.  I’m planning to upgrade at least my own gear over time, and the kids’ depending how well they take to it.

More info:  Kids are 16, 14, and 11 (also my three adult kids may join us sometimes, but they have to buy their own stuff!).  Anything I get them set up with, I’d like to do in a way that they can also use on their own for scout outings, trips with other people etc… In other words, I’m not looking for big whole-family shelters.  We have some small 2 person tents, but they are heavy to the tune of 5-7 lbs.  We also have regular low-budget sleeping bags that are not particularly lightweight but have worked fine for the weather we’ll be out in.  Down is totally out of the budget, esp. for 4 people.