Topic

Bob Marshall winter ski traverse

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Bob Marshall winter ski traverse

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Tom M
    BPL Member

@twofeathers

Locale: Kalispell

This has been on the radar for a long time. Im hoping to get this going early 2021. Still deciding on routes. Initial route would be Monture to Meadow creek.

Tom M
    BPL Member

@twofeathers

“To pulk or not to pulk” I have zero experience with a tow behind sled but the thought of not having to carry a large multi day winter kit intrigues me. School me on the pro’s and con’s.

Tom M
    BPL Member

@twofeathers

Here is my first attempt at building a pulk. .030 aluminum came in at 2lb 12oz. as shown. I am going to build another one out of .0625 UHMW Polyethylene.

Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan

Locale: Central Rockies

“To pulk or not to pulk”

Depends on your route.

Sidehilling will suck.

But your pulk looks awesome!

I’ve skied the length of the Bob in winter twice, from E Glacier to Trixie’s. I used a pulk on one where I tried to use river corridors for as many miles as possible, and on steep sections, I carried it.

Tom M
    BPL Member

@twofeathers

Ryan,

Thanks I copied the design from other sleds I searched.  My route is mostly following the south fork flathead. I have upgraded the pulk using some .0625 UHMW it came in at 1lb 8oz. I did some limited testing this weekend and I agree sidehill traversing is awful. Did you find that the increased efficiency was worth the hassle?  

Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan

On the trip with the pulk, I crossed 3 passes, and traveled N->S. Two of the passes (between my start on the CDT at Marias) to the Spotted Bear River were early in the trip and involved a lot of blowdowns. I was regretting the pulk, the pack weight, and the whole idea at that time…!