Topic

Black Forest Trail in May

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Black Forest Trail in May

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jake
    BPL Member

@jake_c

Locale: Eastern OH

Hello,
    Im hoping to find someone willing to join me on a trip to hike the black forest trail in may. Im definitely willing to consider other trails as well. I’d prefer to keep it central to western PA. Im very flexible on the dates, my job is great about accomodating vacation requests.
    A little about me. Im an absolute newb to backpacking. I just finished putting my kit together today and im anxious to get out. I would love to have someone show me the ropes before i start out on my own. Ive done a few training hikes of 10ish miles and felt pretty good so i think i should be fine with 10 plus mile days.
    Please feel free to comment or PM me if you’re interested or have any advice.
    Thanks!

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

Jake,

There’s another thread going on here:  Northeast(ish) Trip  Take a look at it too…

I’ve hiked about 1/3 of the BFT on a rather unpleasant April weekend (lots of rain and it was cold) a couple of years ago.  I’ll suggest that it’s a very tough trail for your first time out.  I live near Lancaster, PA and have taken about 7 first-timers on the Old Loggers Path.  It’s a pretty friendly trail and it’s a loop which will make it easier for you because you won’t have to shuttle cars.

Another loop hike that you can do with two nights on the trail is the eastern loop of the Allegheny Front Trail (near and through Black Moshannon State Park about 40 minutes from State College).

Please feel free to PM me if you have any questions about any of these trails or would like more info about them.

Jake
    BPL Member

@jake_c

Thanks, Kevin. I’ll definitely look into it.