Topic

Big Agnes Torchlight UL 30 – any reviews/feedback?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Big Agnes Torchlight UL 30 – any reviews/feedback?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Z
    Spectator

@zuren

I’m looking for a new 3-season sleeping bag.  My current “good” sleeping bag is a Moonstone Muir Trail 20 that weighs in at 3 lbs.

I’m looking at a long Big Agnes Torchlight UL 30.  It weighs in at slightly over 2 lbs:

https://www.bigagnes.com/Torchlight-UL-30

My 20 degree bag is too warm and heavy for most of what I do.  I have a 45 degree Big Agnes Cros Mountain that has left me cold and is closer to a quilt than a sleeping bag (no insulation on the bottom).  I’m hoping a 30-35 rated bag is “just right”.  This Torchlight UL 30 is not the lightest option out there but the expandable features are interesting and is at a decent price point if found on sale.

Outdoor Gear Lab was not that impressed with the women’s version; I find very few independent reviews that aren’t also trying to sell it.  I’m just curious if anyone has tried one.

Thanks!

S Long
    BPL Member

@izeloz

Locale: Wasatch

Buy nice or buy twice (i.e. buy once, cry once). I recommend investing in a Western Mountaineering, Feathered Friends, Nunatak, or cottage gear bag/quilt (Enlightened Equipment, Hammock Gear, Zpacks, etc.). They’re pricey, but worth it for the warmth-to-weight and longevity. IMHO.

JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2

^ That.  Every word of it.

Monte Masterson
    BPL Member

@septimius

Locale: Southern Indiana