Topic

Best small survival kits??

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Best small survival kits??

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    robert v
    BPL Member

@mtnbob123

Locale: Bristol Bay Alaska

Hi, I’m a Special Ed teacher at a small school on the edge of the Bristol Bay in Alaska. In the winter we sometimes travel by snow-go(snowmobile) or single engine planes. My school district has a rule that each child must carry a small survival kit around their neck while in transit.

Question–Does anyone have any suggestions other than the ones I see on ebay and amazon? I would prefer ones that had actual usable components. The old ones consisted of a trash bag sized tube tent and a 5 cent compass with a candle…..

Thanks in advance…

Herman
    BPL Member

@hre814

Locale: Alaska

How old are the kids? Certain items you had in mind? I think making them is best. Finding a store bought one is easy, but one should know how to use everything in each kit. Would give the kids a good learning experience. I’ve made around the neck survival necklaces with kids before. I just use paracord and on it is a small bic lighter duct taped to the cord, a whistle, one of those small compasses, and a very small Swiss Army knife or knife.

Bonzo
    BPL Member

@bon-zo

Locale: Virgo Supercluster

X2 on making them; the kit is only as good as knowing how to use it, so assembly/instruction should be part of the process   Maybe go cheap and light with a DCF pouch on a lanyard/necklace.  Magnetic closure (unless someone has a pacemaker, I guess…) and basic stuff inside.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

The equipped dot org forums at below link should also be consulted.

http://forums.equipped.org/ubbthreads.php?ubb=cfrm

Dave @ Oware
    BPL Member

@bivysack-com

Locale: East Washington