Topic

Best section hikes of the AT in New England?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Best section hikes of the AT in New England?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Locale: NYC metro

I’m relatively new to the NE (been in the NYC area for almost 3 years now), and I’m considering doing a stretch of the AT (or perhaps something else–maybe the Adirondacks?).  Thoughts on the 100 mile wilderness to Katahdin?  The NH section of the AT?

Most of my experience has been in the Rockies (CO), and I’m used to epic views with big mountains.  I have a hard time getting excited about the east coast, but maybe I just need to give it a try.  I’m looking for something around 100-200 miles which I can do in 5-10 days.  I usually aim for about 20 mpd or thereabouts, depending on terrain.

Thoughts?

P.S. The East Coast Trail in Newfoundland also came on my radar recently–it’s technically a thru hike which is a plus, although it seems a bit hard to get to.

Seth R
    BPL Member

@lerxst

Locale: Northeast

I have no idea what your experience is for NE trails, but I would come up for a weekend and get your feet wet on a few day hikes to see if 20 miles a day is realistic for you. I’m in Maine and am working on sectioning the state a piece at a time as life allows. Some of it is fairly gnarly. I know folks that have done the 100 MW in 5-6 days. I have only done parts of it. It can be broken up, just requires major car shuttling.

You could knock out the whole NH section in that time frame. That’s probably your best bang for buck as far as being above treeline. PM if you want any specific info.

Gerry V
    BPL Member

@gvulpes