Topic

Backpacking and software updates

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Backpacking and software updates

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Rex Sanders
    BPL Member

@rex

Background: Recent “minor” updates to my Apple Watch and our iPhones are driving my wife and I nuts. We’ve seen undocumented changes to user interfaces, well-hidden settings to put things mostly back, and overlapping settings that interact in mysterious ways. I’ve been using Apple devices regularly since 1979, and I’ve never been this frustrated. WYSIWYG has become as bad as a CLI, but without a usable manual, or even semi-logical workflows. I change WHAT setting to undo THAT new annoyance which breaks THIS other feature?

Why this rant? What happens if you update your smart device just before a backpacking trip, or during a thru-hike? I’d be tempted to throw the cursed thing into the bushes, LNT or no LNT.

Recommendations:

– Don’t update in the week or so before a backpacking trip where your smart device is important to success or safety.

– After every update, thoroughly check out the features and settings important to you. Fix the broken settings you can, and learn to curse through the new features you hate.

– Think twice or more before updating during an extended thru-hike. If you choose to update, accept the risk that features you depend on might go very sideways until you learn to work around the problems, if you can.

After a long career where computer security was a critical part of my multi-faceted job, it pains me greatly to recommend delaying security updates. So my last recommendation: