Topic

Anyone train and hike with a deaf dog?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Anyone train and hike with a deaf dog?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

If so, what resources would you recommend for someone considering adopting a deaf puppy (Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler mix) for training and care?

Stumphges
    BPL Member

@stumphges

I’m no expert, but trail dogs need to be trained to a pretty high standard. Most dogs rely almost entirely on their hearing to receive commands on the trail (recall, stop, stay, sit, etc.) and also to a great extent also for praise (good boy!) and reinforcement of good work. Without hearing, you’d have to have a way to communicate remotely. There are collars that produce a variety of tactile and electric “inputs” that your dog could come to understand as commands. I don’t use them myself, so can’t give you any info. On the reward side, most commands on the trail result in proximity between man and beast (recall, often stay too) and any such proximity can involve both food and touch rewards. I would think a deaf dog would appreciate more touch rewards to compensate for the missed verbal ones.

I think it’s doable. Certainly far more doable than a blind dog. But hopefully someone with real knowledge and experience will chime in. And I would give some thought to potential hazards unique to a deaf dog in the wild too. Don’t know if you’ve had a trail dog before, but the feeling of responsibility for the dog, when out in the wilderness, can take some fun out of backpacking. It is a bit like having a toddler, but a fully-formed super-athlete toddler, along for the trip. With great enthusiasm sometimes comes great danger.

Dan
    BPL Member

@dan-s

Locale: Colorado