Topic

anyone have experience getting back on trail after a foot stress fracture?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion anyone have experience getting back on trail after a foot stress fracture?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    John D
    BPL Member

@chef4

I’m off the AT currently waiting for my heel stress fracture to heal.  I’m wondering if anyone in this group has had a foot stress fracture, just looking for others’ experiences to help guide my return?  I have a plan to fix a number of possibly contributing factors (including not repeating Rocksylvania), and my base weight is around 11, doubt I can go much lower.  I posted on reddit but got few replies.  Thank you.

Perry H
    BPL Member

@hphock

Locale: Midwest

I am not a doctor but I can tell you from my experiences in endurance sports / ultrarunning etc if the body isn’t getting enough electrolytes (not just sodium but Calcium, Potassium, and Magnesium) it will pull these from other spots. I developed osteopenia from not getting enough calcium. In other words, it was taking calcium away from bone health to help process the fluids I’d intake during training and events. I HIGHLY suggest looking at nutrition as a contributing factor as well.

as far as actual stress fractures to heal, RICE and more R. And again R. Finally R again. It just takes time.

Best in health

John D
    BPL Member

@chef4

That’s a great point, I definitely wasn’t eating optimally, I’ve used the time off (5 weeks so far) to revamp my eating strategies, and I really wasn’t sufficiently hydrated.  I’m going to take some calcium tabs along with me (at a substantial weight penalty, they’re huge!); on your advice I will add some electrolytes for water.  If your body doesn’t need the minerals and electrolytes the kidney just takes care of them…

Bonzo