Topic

Any experience with a Husqvarna 500?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Any experience with a Husqvarna 500?

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Kattt
    BPL Member

@kattt

My sister in law sent me one of her sewing machines to help replace the whole fleet of machines and sergers that burned in the fire.
    I have no experience with computerized sewing machines. I do have the manual but I am wondering about a quick setup with the most common stitches just to get started. What is the thickest fabric I can sew; thick denim?? Also curious on what people’s experience is with tension on these machines. I would rather prevent a disaster than having to fix it after the fact.
    Thanks.

Dave @ Oware
    BPL Member

@bivysack-com

Locale: East Washington

Afraid I don’t know about that model.

When I visited family in Jönköping, Sweden next to the Huskvarna factory they told us about sewing machines that were recovered from 50 years at the bottom of the lake in a cargo ship  that were cleaned, oiled, and still ran. I bet it is a nice machine.

Kattt
    BPL Member

@kattt

It sure seems to be a solid little machine. Before I had my Babylocks, which self tension, I always ran into trouble with that so I am being chicken here, afraid to mess it up. I’ll “fire it up” tonight though. The repairs are piling up.

Mario Caceres
    BPL Member

@mariocaceres

Locale: San Francisco
    David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

My Husqvarnas are models 141 and 350.  I haven’t needed larger than that.

Michael B
    BPL Member

@mikebergy