Topic

Agressive reCaptcha On Posting – Very Offputting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Administration & Support Website Bug Reports Agressive reCaptcha On Posting – Very Offputting

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Geoff Caplan
    BPL Member

@geoffcaplan

Locale: Lake District, Cumbria

Since the upgrade, every time I post I’m being required to complete two screens of image identification.

The images are so grainy it’s almost impossible to complete the test accurately – it really is very intrusive.

This is irritating, and seems entirely over the top, considering the nature of the site and the membership.

I’m a paid-up, logged-in member – why should I be subjected to that?

I participate in a number of other forums that don’t seem to feel the need to subject their users to this – and many of them are public-facing and don’t require login.

I’m a developer, and am pretty confident I’m posting from a clean PC and IP.

Treating members as potential criminals surely isn’t the best way to foster a healthy relationship…

JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2

Agree…so vehemently.  I don’t have a problem with most implementations of CAPTCHA, but this one it a total bugger.  My eyesight is good and on a 27″ screen it is very difficult to identify the required object(s).  I think the selection of photos is very badly done.  Some are so oddly cropped that you have really study them to see if there is “a boat” in the picture.

And why 2 sequential rounds of CAPTCHA?  Just overly intrusive and unnecessary IMO.

Edit: So I was required to complete a CAPTCHA for a previous post, but not this one.  Could the requirement be tied to your session?

Edit 2: Logged out and back in and was not “tested”, so maybe not tied to session?

MJ H
    BPL Member

@mjh

Sounds like something a robot would say.

Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan

Locale: Central Rockies