Topic

Age Old Question: Best Cup of Coffee on the Trail?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Age Old Question: Best Cup of Coffee on the Trail?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Dalton Cooper
    BPL Member

@dcooper

Locale: Carolinas

Hey all! I’m a quite good frontcountry cook and after buying a dehydrator recently, I’ve started eating a lot better in the backcountry too. That said, food-wise the only thing I haven’t really figured out is a good solution for backcountry coffee.

Instant coffee is so easy but I’ve found is either on the pricey side (like Starbucks) or tastes like diesel fuel. Since I’m kinda a coffee snob (not proud about it), the world of instant coffee is a mystery to me.

As much as I love french press and drip coffee, I hate clean-up, even in my apartment. Aeropress is appealing for weekend trips but the bulk and clean-up is somewhat discouraging to me. I have also been told by old-school backpackers (read: my dad, grandfather, and my best friend’s dad) that cowboy coffee is the way to go.

What’re some things that work for y’all and strike a good balance between economical, tasty, and convenient? Should I just suck it up and shell out for Starbucks instant coffee or is there another option I’ve completely overlooked?

Bruce Tolley
    BPL Member

@btolley

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

Here is my recipe (I think I adapted it from one Mike Clelland posted or had in one of his books.)

Go to a coffee shop that sells whole beans and buy your favorite coffee, ground for a French Press

Use two table spoons of coffee for each 5 to 6 ounces of water

Bring cold water to a boil. Turn off your stove. Slowly pour the coffee into the water. Let the coffee bloom just like your french press at home for 1 or 2 minutes depending on how much flavor you like.