Topic

Rainbow in the winter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Rainbow in the winter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Jeff
    BPL Member

@jeffjeff

Has anyone tried using the a tarptent rainbow in winter with mild snow conditions?

It has been a mild winter in the PNW so far and I think I can get away with it. I know wind and snow loading would be bad, but the forecast looks good for a few days. Would the mesh lower cause it to just fill up with snow drifts from any light winds? I'm not worried about it being cold (compared to a proper 4 season) since I have a 0 degree bag and it shouldn't get below 20 or so.

All of my shelters are for mild weather. I usually dig a cave in winter, but there isn't enough snow up here yet.

Tipi Walter
    BPL Member

@tipiwalter

I've read about several examples of spindrift blowing into Tarptents due to the low perimeter mesh but I can't find these reviews after a cursory search. Here are some other neat links—

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php/78304-Tarptents-in-snow

http://www.nwhikers.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=684624
    Some negatories in this link.

http://www.verber.com/mark/outdoors/gear/shelter.html
    Mark Verber goes into some detail and talks about wind and condensation.

http://www.backpackgeartest.org/reviews/Shelters/Tarps%20and%20Bivys/Tarptent%20Double%20Rainbow/Owner%20Review%20by%20Edwin%20L.%20Morse/
    In this review Edwin Morse has alot of good things to say and a few not so good.

And if you really want to go nuts, check out this—

http://eastonmountainproducts.com/pdf/condensation-article.pdf

Rick Adams
    BPL Member

@rickadams100