Topic

Where to buy downhill ski boots in PDX

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Other Activities Where to buy downhill ski boots in PDX

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Katherine .
    BPL Member

@katherine

Locale: pdx

I used to downhill ski a lot, mainly from age 6-18. I'm an expert skier who hasn't really skied in two decades.

Dad's paying for boots and a trip w/him this winter.

Where to get them in Portland?

What to look for? I'm vigilant about being female and not having skied much recently and being sold a boot that isn't gonna do it for me. (but thank goodness I've outgrown those awful 1980s rear-entry boots!)

So what's a good place to go shopping in Portland. Any thoughts on what to consider? The few times I've rented equipment I felt like I would have done better in a stiffer boot.

(next question: would any store put new binding on my old skis? Do skis age? I don't like the curvy ones.)

Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

Most of them are over by now but google around to see if there are any ski swaps coming up. I was able to outfit my two monkeys with a pair of snowboard boots, ski boots, ski poles, an awesome ski jacket, and snowboard bindings for less than what I would have paid for a single pair of ski boots. There were both new and used options.

Also, you may want to reach out to the local ski club and see what they suggest. Iā€™m not familiar with the Portland market.

As far as new bindings on old skis go, I don't see why not. I have my bindings tested every year and have had to replace them over the years.

Don't knock the shape skis. I found out that it really pays to take a lesson if you've been out of the game for a while. The technology has changed and so has the technique.