Topic

Recommendations for external battery capacity for two on the PCT?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Recommendations for external battery capacity for two on the PCT?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Derek M.
    BPL Member

@dmusashe

Locale: Southern California

I'm new to external batteries and I'm trying to get my wife and I's electronics kit finalized for our upcoming PCT thru hike in 2015.

So far, here are all the USB rechargeable electronics items that I'm planning on us carrying (listed from most used to least used):
    2 iPhone 6's (each has a battery capacity of 1810 mAh)
    1 Steripen Ultra (not sure of the capacity, not stated by manufacturer)
    2 Bosavi headlamps (each has a battery capacity of 700 mAh)

I expect that the iPhone 6's with be needing recharged the most (by far). We will be using them for music, audiobooks, podcasts, etc., as well as calls, text messaging, emails, internet surfing, etc. I'll bet 90% of the use will be listening to some form of audio while in airplane mode. We'll probably be listening to audio about 8 hours a day, I suspect, or maybe more (we both love long audiobooks!).

Anyway, I'm trying to get a handle on what size of external battery we will need to keep all these items juiced up, given the average time between electrical outlet availability on the trail. I'm still not sure on this and would love some input.

We will be carrying a Suntactics sCharger-5 for as long as it's practical to do so (until Northern California, perhaps?). After that, we'll be relying on an external battery to keep our electronics powered.