Topic

carbon fiber tripod

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography carbon fiber tripod

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Peter Boysen
    BPL Member

@peterboysen

Hey all. I've been out of the photography gear market for quite a while, but I was curious if anybody here knows of a decent lightweight tripod (presumably carbon fiber, but anything light will do) that keeps things fairly cheap. I'd be using it with a 5Dmk2 and a 24-105 or 17-40, so it doesn't need to be super burly for big telephotos or anything. Not really interested in trekking pole adapters + guy lines or monopods of any sort (my trips are about 80% canoe camping, so I don't even own trekking poles anyway).

Anyway, thanks in advance.

Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

Here's one option that I have no personal experience with.

http://www.mefoto.com/products/globetrotter.aspx#Specifications

Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

"Cheap" and "carbon fiber" are difficult to put in the same sentence when it comes to Tri Pods but I'm watching this thread with great interest with the hopes that someone will deliver the goods.

Peter Boysen
    BPL Member

@peterboysen

""Cheap" and "carbon fiber" are difficult to put in the same sentence"

Yeah, that's the truth. Though that one you linked to looks much better in terms of price/performance than anything I'd seen four or five years ago when I last thought about it. I'd sacrifice a little height though if it brought both weight and cost down somewhat. May just be wishful thinking though.

Brendan Swihart
    BPL Member

@brendans

Locale: Fruita CO

I bought a Sirui T-025x last spring and am quite impressed with it. Far cheaper than something like a Gitzo or whatever and still very high quality and easy to use. There's an aluminum version that's a bit cheaper/heavier too.

Lots more info here: