Topic

Help me buy my next Layering piece for winter camping/Backpacking.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Help me buy my next Layering piece for winter camping/Backpacking.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    CARLOS C.
    BPL Member

@lamboy

Locale: Mid Atlantic

Hello Everyone I am fairly new to backpacking and have gotten a few trips under my belt this year and now I am wanting to extend my trip possibilities into deep fall and winter. I have been reading many articles here that Richard Nisley along with many of you have contributed to.

I have already checked out what my BMR of 1748.85 and further calculation brings my MET to 47.049 or so I think.However I am still trying to figure out the correct way to calculate clo for garments so that I may use the chart Richard provided here

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=9378

I believe that I am missing a couple key components to round off my clothing options for winter trips mainly a heavier insulation piece and a windjacket (hopefully with my next REI dividend).

I am looking at the new Montbell Frost Line Parka (http://www.montbell.us/products/disp.php?cat_id=2001&p_id=2301185&gen_cd=1) or something in that range to help me get proper insulation down to 0 degrees or close.

I have a midweight and lightweight merino baselayers for top and bottom as well as different weight merino blend socks. Gloves and various hats.

Wind Jacket:
    Possible early spring purchase (not sure if I need it with the amount of rain we have here in the mid atlantic)

In the fleece category I have:
    Nike Calendared fleece hooded pull over (similar to R1 but not as thick or fitted)
    North Face quarter zip 100 wt Fleece Jacket
    LLbean Full Zip Polartec Classic 200 Fleece Jacket