Topic

9 day Overland Track Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists 9 day Overland Track Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Chris Wiewiora
    BPL Member

@crispy_scapes

Hey!

This is my first post on bpl but I have been reading articles and posts on here for months. I thought I would post my gear list for a nine day trip I will be doing in late December (27th Dec – 4th Jan). I'll be doing the Overland Track (65km) but also a lot of side trips and detours to get to some scenic locations. The average temp during December is around 21.2 C to 8.7 C but Tasmania's weather changes all the time and it has even snowed a few times during December.

I'm a photographer, so that is the main focus of the trip and that part of the gear list can't really change. Although I am currently testing a new lens that would reduce my system weight by around 0.8kg and is more compact, so I'm hoping to take that. I'm also planning on ordering the Zpacks Duplex tent prior to the trip. I would love to order the Zpacks 20 sleeping bag and Arc Blast backpack too but as a full time uni student I don't have the funds at the moment.

I have ordered new tiny bottles and jars from Ultralightdesigns to take the minimum amount of fluids for my toiletries and I will be dehydrating the toothpaste into small pellets. So the toiletries weight will change. I'd like to change from the jetboil sol to a UL esbit system but I can't take esbit fuel on the plane, as well as I can't find a store in Launceston that stocks it. I just bought a nesco dehydrator, so I will make my own meals and jerky too. I know the Montbell Mirage Parka is overkill but it pretty much weights the same as my Patagonia down sweater and it compresses more.