Topic

Down jackets. Help me finally choose.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Down jackets. Help me finally choose.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Matthew H
    BPL Member

@vision-quest

Locale: Boulder, CO

Hey everyone. Trying to finally decide on a down jacket after flip-flopping between choices for a long time. I live in the PNW and need a down jacket that is comfortably warm year round. My layering system for cooler temps consists of usually a cap 2 or 4 base layer, Arc'teryx Atom LT and now I'm trying to nail down the down and hard shell. I do stand around a lot not moving early in the morning and late evening as I am a photographer.

The choices I had been looking at (and the downfalls I see in each):

Arc'teryx Cerium LT (9.5oz) – on the heavier side, apparently loses feathers
    MH Ghost Whisperer (7.5oz) – worried about durability
    Montbell Ex Lite Down Anorak (7oz) – worried not warm enough, not great looking
    Montbell UL Down Parka (9oz)- doesn't look great
    Patagonia UL Down Hoodie (9.3oz) – on the heavier side

Any reason I should pick one particular one of the other? Please save my sanity and try to convince me one way or the other!

Richard Lyon
    BPL Member

@richardglyon

Locale: Bridger Mountains

Matthew,

I have owned three on your short list, the two MontBells and the Patagonia. I give very high marks to the MontBell UL Down Parka and Patagonia Down Hoody as excellent midlayers that can be used as an outer jacket down to about 20F. The MontBell Ex Light is as warm as the UL but has no pockets which makes it problematic without a shell atop it. I'd quickly opt to one with a hood but that's a personal preference.

Richard

David Ure

@familyguy