Topic

Thread Loops on top of fabric when sewing in reverse and at low speeds

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Thread Loops on top of fabric when sewing in reverse and at low speeds

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Patrick McFarlane
    BPL Member

@pnmcfarlane

Locale: Central Canada

Hello all,

I am new to sewing and making my own gear. Working on a quilt for my dog right now -he's short haired and a wimp. When I was sewing the edge seams (hemmed – 6 layers),I noticed that I would get loops when sewing in reverse or at low speed. When sewing a long stretch forward I might get one loose stitch every 10" or so (probably happens when I slow down or stop to straighten out the fabric). I posted a video here:

Kenmore 1803 problems

The fabric is 30 denier / 1.1 oz downproof ripstop nylon. Thread is Guttermann sew-all. Needle is Schmetz Microtex 70/10 and the machine is a vintage Kenmore model 158.18034.

I thought it was a tension issue at first, but the stitch seems balanced and I set the bobbin tension first using the drop/tug test. Tightening the bobbin tension way tighter than it seems like it should be and rebalancing by tightening the needle tension seems to fix the problem. Switching to a larger needle also fixes it, but the only other size needle I have right now is a size 90/14, which seems way too big for the thread and fabric. When I sewed a storage sack for my sleeping bag out of heavier but much more open weave cotton and a larger needle I did not have any problems at all.

Thanks,

Patrick

Hopefully one of you experts will be able to diagnose this problem.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

increase top tension

is thread properly threaded through the tensioner and everywhere

new needle

David Scheidt

@dscheidt