Topic

Ideas for a 3 day trip in Colorado?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Ideas for a 3 day trip in Colorado?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Tony L

@luch0623

I am fairly new to Colorado and am looking to do a 3 day trip next weekend. I live in the Denver area so I'd prefer something closer but I am not opposed to driving 5 hours or so. Right now I am thinking of doing Snowmass Mountain loop. It's a 23 mile loop over Buckskin Pass and Willow pass. It is one the same trail as the 4 pass loop for a day or so. Has anyone done this hike? Any info on it would be awesome.

Or if you have any other good 3 day loop hikes I would love to get some more ideas. I am looking for. 20-25ish mile loop.

Thank you !

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

Last fall we did a great three-day trip into the Maroon Bells area near Aspen. Hardly anyone camping there then, I suspect it might be much different in the summer.

Dondo .
    BPL Member

@dondo

Locale: Colorado Rockies

Hi Tony, the route you picked out is excellent. You can read about it here on my blog.

Read about a couple of closer in trips here and here .

All three are great loops in your mileage range. You really can't go wrong with any of them.

Jay L
    BPL Member

@jjlash

Ive seen others say Indian Peaks is one of the more crowded places, but I really enjoyed my trip there a couple of years ago. We were initially looking at a partial loop from Isabella Lake, across Pawnee Pass, crater lake then back along a northern route to Camp Dick. That was too ambitious for our group so we did an out-and-back to Crater Lk.

Tony L

@luch0623