Topic

MYOG Kayak Question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG Kayak Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    David Drake
    BPL Member

@daviddrake

Locale: North Idaho

I've got it into my head that I want to build a touring kayak. At first, I was thinking of cedar strip construction, but started reading about skin-on-frame boats and was attracted to the lightness and overall aesthetic, combined with relative low cost and speed of construction.

Disclaimer: I have very little paddling experience–this would be a project where I'd essentially be building a boat and then learning to use it. However, I'm a pretty fair woodworker, and manage a large, well-equipped shop, including CNC router with 96" x 48" bed. Because of my shop's capabilities (and to serve as a demonstration project for my design students) I'd like to incorporate some elements of digital design and fabrication in the process.

So far, I've picked up a couple of books on the subject, including 'Building the Greenland Kayak' by Chris Cunningham, and 'More Fuselage Frame Boats' by Jeff Horton. Any advice from BPLers with experience in building or paddling a skin-on-frame kayak would be great, including input on the books I already have, others I should be looking at, good web-based resources, etc.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

I build mostly cedar strip boats. That said, I went through the same basic process as you with the learning. I was a novice and still am in many ways. Learning to paddle anything more than quiet water, class 1 and maybe 2 rapids means instruction. One is generally currented water with few obstructions. 2 has some obstructions and maybe some short sections of fast broken water. Stick with the flows and enjoy the ride.